9 Miles


20140526-171037-61837529.jpg

This past Saturday I had my longest run to date which was 9 miles. I know I still have a ways to go to get to 26.2 miles, but it was a huge accomplishment for me. The first 7 miles I was feeling pretty good, but the last 2 my legs were starting to hurt, and I was thinking about slowing down my pace because I was sore. Then I thought about how much I had already accomplished in my training thus far. As I have mentioned before, I have never been a runner. I used to hate cardio because I would be so out of breath that I could barely function, but here I am now, 7 miles down and not out of breath at all. I realized that the only thing that was stopping me was the pain in my legs, but that did not make sense because I have a very high pain tolerance. So what was really stopping me? It was my mind. My brain was saying, “you have already gone 7 miles, that is enough, you can stop”. I was full capable of pushing past the pain in my legs and finishing the last 2 miles. So I did. I ignored my brain and just kept going, and before I knew it I had run 9 miles. Afterward, I felt an immense feeling of accomplishment. The reality that my mind is going to be the biggest hurdle that I have to overcome when it comes to this marathon was made very clear on Saturday.

What do you let your mind stop you from doing?

Leave a Reply

