Training


20140512-203705.jpg

Since I am training for my first marathon, I made sure to give myself plenty of time to train so that I would be prepared for task ahead of me. So I began training a few weeks ago. I looked online at different training programs and decided to loosely follow one, as far as how fast I should build up mileage. I am always in a hurry to push myself, and I knew that if I built up mileage too fast then I would injure myself, and then have to stop training all together to recover. Therefore, i have been trying to pace myself.

Right now my training consists of bootcamp classes twice a week for an hour each, one 50 minute SLT class, two shorter 3-4 mile runs, one long run, and then one day to recover. So far, the longest run I have done is seven miles, and so I still have a ways to go. However, I have realized that my legs can keep going for a long time, but it is my mind that gets in the way. I start getting bored from the monotony of running. Right now I am running on the treadmill in order to get my legs used to the motion of running, so that it becomes second nature. I usually watch a show or movie and just pound out my miles. I also am not a fan of running in the city because I feel like everyone is staring at me. Lol. Plus there is nothing to look at. However, as the weather is getting nicer, I will soon be doing my long runs outside because I know there is a big difference between running on the treadmill and running outside.

It is still strange for me to think that I get up each morning to train for a marathon. I am becoming a runner, something I never thought I would become. It is such a foreign concept to me. Sometimes I don’t feel like running and dread the hour I am going to spend on the treadmill, but then I think of how I will regret not being prepared when I am faced with those 26.2 miles. I also know I can’t back out now because I have already booked my flight to New Zealand and signed up for the race. Then when all of that reasoning fails, I remember the charity I am supporting, and know that I cannot give up 🙂 The people, who will benefit from the money I raise from this run, walk miles everyday just to get clean water. If they can do that everyday, I can do 26.2 miles for one day. What motivates you to keep going?

Leave a Reply

