Day 1: Raw Revolution Bars


20140513-192220.jpg

Raw Revolution bars are one of my favorite bars to have handy when I am on the go. They are organic, vegan, non GMO, kosher, gluten free, and, for the most part, raw. Not to mention the fact that they are delicious! Each bar contains about 230 calories, some are a little more and some are a little less. They also each have around 6 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber. The bars consist of ingredients such as cashews, dates, sunflower seed kernels, agave, coconut, almonds, sprouted flax seeds, and other dried fruits, nuts, and seeds, depending on the flavor.

There are currently 14 flavors such as coconut delight, chunky peanut butter chocolate, Apple cinnamon, golden cashew and many more. The only sweeteners used in the bars is agave and dates, with the exception of the bars that contain chocolate chunks because the chunks are made with cane sugar. However, there are plenty of options that do not contain the chocolate chunks if you are trying to avoid cane sugar, as I generally am. The bar itself is chewy from the dates and fruits holding it together but it has full nuts and seeds incorporated in it that add a nice crunch. I love all of the flavors, but my favorite is the spirulina dream. It is actually a nice dark green color which makes it look kind of weird, but, trust me, it is delicious 🙂

They are available to order online from their website rawrev.com, or they can be found at various health food stores. Online a box of 12 goes for $20, or individually the bars usually run between $1.50 and $2 a bar. I have found that one of these bars can keep me full for around 2 hours which works nicely to tide me over until my next meal if I am just wanting something small, or if I am trying to eat a lot of small meals every 2-3hrs. If you decide to give them a try let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

