Why do a Marathon?!


So this is my first marathon, and honestly, I have never been a runner. I always hated running and cardio in general, and so I thought I could never run a marathon and never even had a desire to attempt one. So, why am I running a marathon then? Well I have always said that I do not ever want to feel like there is something that I cannot do. I do not want to limit myself by thinking I cannot do something. I should be able to do anything I put my mind to as long as I put in the time and effort. So I decided that if I can complete a marathon, since it’s the one thing I always said. I could not do, then I can do anything!

But I knew that if I was going to do one then it couldn’t be just any marathon because I HATE running through the city. I always feel like everyone is staring at me, I hate dodging the stoplights and all the people, and there is no scenery. I am not a city person. Lol. I do, however, love running trails through the woods or hiking, so I knew that I had to find a marathon where I would be running through nature. So I started researching and stumbled upon this one is New Zealand. I have always wanted to go there and figured I would make a vacation out of it. Plus, I was using frequent flier miles to book the ticket so it was not costing me a fortune to get there. So I booked the ticket and signed up for the marathon, which meant that now I was committed.

20140511-165546.jpg

However, I also knew that self motivation would only get me so far, which is why I decided to run to support World Vision. It’s a great organization that helps provide needs for people in impoverished countries. I really have a passion for mission trips and charities abroad so this felt like the extra motivation I would need to complete this marathon. You can read more about the charity and what exactly I am supporting in my previous post in the marathon adventure category. It will also give you information on donating to the cause if you feel lead too 🙂

In future posts I will discuss what I am doing to train for the marathon as well as my journey up until the marathon. So wish me luck! Have any of you ever thought of completing a marathon or actually completed one? What is stopping you or motivated you to start?

Leave a Reply

