Self Magazine Workout in the Park


Every year Self Magazine hosts a workout in the park in NYC, and this year I was able to attend. The event is basically a fitness and wellness fair that is held at Central Park. So throughout the event there are multiple different types of 20 minute workouts that you can try. There are also various vendors sponsoring the event who are handing out snacks and such to promote their brand. Free neck massages are also available and various sweepstakes where taking place that you could enter. There is also always a special guest. This year it was celebrity trainer, and trainer on the tv show The Biggest Loser, Bob Harper. So I was really excited about that because I love watching him on the show, and watching that show really made me want to be able to help others reach their fitness goals.

You have to sign up for the event online ahead of time, and the cost is $30. However, you also receive a year subscription to Self Magazine along with your entrance to the event. Some of the money goes to support the charity they are sponsoring that year, so it’s for a good cause. The event sells out every year so you have to make sure to buy tickets early.

 

Entrance to the event

Entrance to the event

I learned that although the event starts at 11AM, registration for classes starts at 9AM, so it is best to get there early so that you can sign up for a class that you really want to take. However, they only let you sign up for one class at a time so you have to check back right before the other classes that you want to take to see if they have extra space for you. There are three areas where they hold classes. No registration is required for the main stage so as many people as want can partake in the classes being taught in that area. I signed up for an abdominal workout in one of the areas and it was pretty good. The fitness classes ranged from crossfit to Pilates to beachbody to barre classes. So needless to say there was a great assortment. The very last workout was led by BoB Harper on the main stage šŸ™‚

One of the classes being taught on the main stage

One of the classes being taught on the main stage

I was also lucky enough to notice that the first 50 people to buy one of Bob’s books got a chance to meet him and have him sign it. So I lucked out and got to meet him, which was awesome for me šŸ™‚

Bob Harper and I :)

Bob Harper and I šŸ™‚

I also stayed to do his workout, which I have to stay was pretty darn good. Lol I like to think that it is pretty hard to challenge me on workouts, and he had me working so I was happily surprised. He did not disappoint šŸ™‚

Overall, I really enjoyed the event, and I got a chance to do three mini workouts. However, I have a feeling I didn’t really burn any extra calories because of all the free snacks they were handing out at the event šŸ˜‰

My haul from the event. Everything was free except Bob's book. I also got a free yoga mat.

My haul from the event. Everything was free except Bob’s book. I also got a free yoga mat.

3 thoughts on “Self Magazine Workout in the Park

  1. It’s hard to find your website in google. I found
    it on 20 spot, you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to increase traffic.
    I know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo tips

    Like

Leave a Reply

