My Babies


20140511-161304.jpg

So I currently have two sugar gliders named Adam and Eve šŸ˜‰ They are my babies since they are low maintenance and soo cute šŸ™‚ I grew up with pets my whole life, and so when I started modeling and spending a lot of time traveling and in NYC I really missed having animals around. I have never really been an outgoing people person, and so having something that depends on me and needs me is always a nice feeling. This is especially true since I spend a lot of time traveling alone as a model. It’s also nice to have animals since they unconditionally love you and are always happy to see you, animal lovers out there you know what I am talking about šŸ˜‰

For those of you who do not know what sugar gliders are, they are marsupials -meaning they carry their babies in a pouch like a kangaroo. Their bodies grow to be about 6-7 inches in length and then their tails are about another 6 inches or so. They have a flap of skin that connects from their hands to feet so that when they jump they can glide to the floor, kinda like a flying squirrel. They will bond to any human or animal except reptiles, and other animals do not see them as prey because they do not have a smell. Their life span is between 15-20 years. What is cool about them is that once they bond to you, you can just put them in the pocket of your shirt or pants and they will just sleep there and ride around with you throughout the day. Mine are still bonding to me, because they are only like 4 months old, so they ride around in a little pouch with me throughout the day šŸ™‚

FYI I was told that airlines allow them when traveling as a carry-on from the people I bought them from. However, I soon learned that was untrue. No airlines, that I have found, allow you to carry them on the plane. A few allow you to put them in pet cargo, which costs a fortune, but some do not even allow that. I drove from my hometown in Kansas to NYC in order to have them with me this trip. Needless to say I was determined to bring them with me šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

